I’m a Writing Fool

It’s been too long since I’ve updated this blog. And so I thought I’d let you all in on what has been keeping away from my precious little patch of Internet for the last several weeks.

These tired hands...

Besides weddings galore because the entire population of my heterosexual social sphere is coupling, I have been writing as if I was on fire and words were water. I have problem written enough articles in the last several weeks to constitute a volume somewhere between a novella and a full-fledged novel. Here’s a rundown of some of the things I have done (links lead to my work):

  • Essay Fiesta: I’m gearing up for our two-year anniversary! Can you believe it?
  • Huffington Post: I absolutely love writing for this site. I mainly write about Chicago’s vibrant entrepreneurial scene, but occasionally I get riled up enough about something else to state my opinion (often something gay).
  • Lawyers.com: I am now a regular contributor to this legal portal. It’s a really fun job. I know. Law = fun? For me it does. I’ve been a legal reporter now for nearly my entire professional career, and it’s one of my favorite subjects to write about. I’m currently working on a huge feature on tort reform and campaign financing, which required some of my old-school investigative skills.
  • The Onion A.V. Club: I just started writing for the Chicago section of this well-known A&E publication. My first piece (see link) was a labor of love, and it’s already insanely popular. I’m currently working on a second piece slated for some time in November.
  • RE:COM: I just put the finishing touches on a piece I’m doing for RE:COM, a national comedy magazine. I’m pretty proud of the outcome.
  • Loyola University Center for Digital Ethics & Policy: I wrote a piece for this site questioning the ethics of sites like Demand Studios, which coincidentally recently undertook a large overhaul in light of changes to Google’s algorithm.
  • DePaul’s Dialogue Magazine: I love writing for DePaul Law School’s alumni magazine. I just got an assignment for their upcoming Winter 2011 issue.
  • Chicago Theater Beat: I’m still reviewing on average four plays a month. That’s one a week. That means I’ve seen more than 100 plays in the last two years.
  • Legal technology vendors: Still doing stuff for them, too.
Leave a Reply

