Announcing My Relaunch

Let’s face it. This blog has fallen into disrepair. If this were a ’67 Chevy, it’d be covered in rust and mounted on cinder blocks in my weed-ridden front yard. Look at my last post. It’s from nearly a year ago. And it’s announcing a blog that has also since suffered a fate of apathy.

So what happened? Why have I been such a bad blogger? Well, for one, I maintain the Essay Fiesta blog and our related monthly e-newsletter. That’s a fairly demanding job. Plus I have a job as a freelance writer, which is ironically the most and least time-consuming career on the planet.

But I’ve also been busy developing a reputation as a creative writer. With the launch of Essay Fiesta 18 months ago and the Chicago Story Collective six months ago, I have propelled myself into the literary spotlight. And let me tell you, it feels more like home than being an improv, stand-up or sketch comic ever did. I love writing and performing, so reading my work in public really is an ideal synthesis of my passions.

But public readings don’t pay the bills. And I’d like to spread my gospel even farther than the hundreds of people who have patronized Essay Fiesta. So, I’m embarking on the exciting path of publishing. That’s right. I want to write a book.

This is a whole new world for me. And I’ve already gotten some wonderful advice (thanks Randy). If you have any other tips, leads or support to offer, please feel free to contact me. And, in the meantime, if you have any freelance work you’re looking to assign, I’m still toiling away at that trade as well.

One response to “Announcing My Relaunch

  1. Elizabeth McQuern

    Hooray! And I’ll be able to say I knew you when. 🙂

Leave a Reply

