An Apology

I want to apologize for some of the harsh things I wrote about Tony Valenzuela. Anything construed as a personal attack on his character rather than a challenge to his opinions is unwarranted. In addition, my posts were based on the information shared during the forum, not information gleaned from other sources. These forums can have a tendency to not allow the presenters adequate time to flesh out or back up an idea, opinion or concept they share. Therefore this can cause confusion for those that aren’t as versed in said person’s perspective. And I feel I may have misunderstood some of Mr. Valenzuela’s points due to this time constraint. I will be reading more of his work to clarify some questions I have.

Also, I am a comedian and a creative writer. Some of what I write is rooted in hyperbole and is not meant to be taken seriously. However, when writing about serious topics (which I do rarely), I can see how some of my thoughts can be misinterpreted, especially when the reader doesn’t really know me. So in the future, if I am going to be throwing my hat into a heated ring, I’m going to make sure I’m not clowning around. Also, I’m passionate about the health of our community, and sometimes my emotions can trump my manners. So there’s that too.

In any case, I do have differences of opinion, which I will not apologize for. Let us all come to conclusions ourselves. Never take a study or an article or a quote at face value. Never be so eager to swallow something that is spoonfed to you. Education takes work, and it is your job to educate yourself. And always question, question, question. Because that’s how you eventually get answers.

6 responses to “An Apology

  1. You are really cool for posting this.

  2. Agree with Jim, kudos for stepping up and owning, wish more of us had the strength to!

    Big hug
    j

  3. Joseph Taylor

    I appreciate this posting and also your others on forum, it was great to see the discussion continue outside of the forum.

  4. Dear Keith,

    First thank you for your posts on the Community forum “Risky business” :
    Unfortunately this year I couldn’t take part in The National LGBTI Summit in Chicago, so it’s was important for me to follow by the Web this great event.

    Thank you too for your apology. I think a few people are able to do this.

    I read your 3 posts from cover to cover. It’s true, you’re a very passionate person (I don’t think it is a fault!). I understand because I’m a woman passionate, like you, about our health community.

    Please read the important Tony Valenzuela’s work about gay men : Tony isn’t a selfish man. He’s a generous man, with his family, with his friends but also for gay men health. I was at the previous LGBT Health Summit in Philadelphia : Tony took an active part to the workshops and planeries during all this Summit. Four years ago, my French organization invited Tony to participate on the Conference” HIV and Gay Health”. It was the first international conference in France on Gay Men Health. We invited him because, according to us Tony is a gay activist and writer, who explored some of the gay communities more controversial topics (bareback, drug cultures). So We asked him to speak about the abuse of crystal Meth. His speech was very right and important because in France it’s not easy to speak about this.

    I agree with Jim Pickett’s posts and I recommend one of his links for the debate “is it safe for an HIV-positive person in a monogamous relationship to have unprotected sex with an HIV-negative partner, provided they have an undetectable viral load, are on stable antiretroviral therapy and have no sexually transmitted diseases.http://www.thebodypro.com/content/confs/aids2008/art47987.html (for the XVII International Aids Conference)

    I think it’s necessary for serodifferent couples and serodifferent sexual partners to reduce risks about HIV and IST when they are engaged on condomless sexual practices. So we have to give them some help (and I hope some solutions).

    Finally, Thank you so much for the Justin Varney’s post : I 100 % agree with him.

    Best wishes
    Sylvie

    (Sorry English isn’t my first language)

  5. >”is it safe for an HIV-positive person in a monogamous relationship to have unprotected sex with an HIV-negative partner, provided they have an undetectable viral load, are on stable antiretroviral therapy and have no sexually transmitted diseases”?

    yeah, good luck with that strategy!

    There’s no test for mutual fidelity.

  6. sex with low hiv count people

    slippery slope argument
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slippery_slope

Leave a Reply

