Smiling In My Sleep

I’m having a personal renasaince.

My life has become amazingly awesome. That’s the way a 13-year-old girl in junior high might describe it, but who the fuck cares. I’m fucking king of the God damn world.

I should mention I’m drunk. I drank Schlitz after Schlitz after Schlitz at the open mic at Schubas. Still drunk words aren’t false. So therefore I speak the truth. Just slightly unabashed, unrestrained. The truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.

First, I did my first open mic in more than two years. Sure, I’ve done stand-up shows more recently. But an open mic is a different beast all together. It is soul crushing. Especially for a gay man who is telling jokes to a nearly all straight, white male crowd, who is drunk mind you. But I grew some balls and did it. And I did well. And I’m going to do it again.  Fuck the fear. It’s a great motto to live by.

Work is going fantastic. I’m up to my ears in assignments. Which is both scary and wonderful. Sure I got some crazy deadlines to make, but it’s money. Enough money to get me through any droughts I experience over the summer. So I can’t complain.

And finally, I met a boy. I’m not going to go into it too much. But let’s just say I’m extraordinarily happy. I’m just fucking happy. There’s nothing more to say about it than that.

Leave a Reply

