If I Was The Grand Canyon

…I’d echo everything you say. But I’m just me. I’m only me. And you used to love me that way. So you know how to love me that way.

Name that song? Anyone?

It’s “Grand Canyon” by Magnetic Fields, one of the best bands (or rather singer/songwriters) ever. And he’s gay. So that’s double plus good.

Anywho, I’ve been in a weird mood lately. I’m both really happy and kind of bummed out. Here’s the happy stuff:

1. My sketch show is finally opening TONIGHT. It’s called Gayrilla Warfare, and we’re a Metromix/Red Eye best bet this week!!!

2. I have a stand-up gig in two weeks. I’m stoked as it will help further push me to really get back into stand-up, something I’m planning on doing once the sketch show closes.

3. I might be working on an upcoming project with outworld.tv. If you’re not familiar with the site, check it out. The guys who run the thing are super nice and totally awesome.

4. Work has picked up nicely. I have a steady stream of projects keeping me busy and keeping my bank account afloat.

So what’s bumming me out? Well, I’ve always been my own worst enemy, and I tend to think too much about stuff. So maybe it’s all in my head, but lately I’ve been feeling kind of lost. My last close single gay male friend just got a boyfriend. I recently called things off with a guy I was seeing. I’m now completely single and have no one to really share in that with. But no longer am I looking for a string of hook-ups. I’ve been there and done that. But I’m not sure if I’m ready to dive into a relationship either. Maybe there’s something in between? I know, a novel idea for a gay man. We always try to either be the whore or the housewife. Maybe there’s something else? I don’t know. But I guess whatever that is, I’ll be it. Besides, if I’m ever feeling down, I can just revert back to the happy list and get all happy again.

One response to “If I Was The Grand Canyon

  1. Hang in there baby! PS-I like Magnetic Fields too!

Leave a Reply

